top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnup Ghosh

What is the NIST Cyber Security Framework (CSF)?

Cyber Security Education

You will hear more and more about the NIST Cyber Security Framework (CSF) this year, in particular, because the 2.0 version was released January 2024.

So what is the NIST Cyber Security Framework?

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Cyber Security Framework (CSF) 2.0 release helps businesses of all sizes better understand, manage, and reduce their cybersecurity risk and protect their networks and data. The new NIST CSF 2.0 release adds Governance to the framework, which describes the oversight responsibility for Executives and Boards when it comes to cybersecurity, one of the key risks to manage in enterprise risk management (ERM).


ThreatMate's Cyber Governance Automation (CGA) provides a comprehensive, concise, and up to date dashboard that shows how the NIST 2.0 Cybersecurity Framework is working in your organization. Executives and Boards need to understand and manage their governance responsibilities as outlined in NIST CSF 2.0, which includes 5 functions: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, and Recover.


Identify: The starting point in the NIST framework is Identify. This involves discovering your assets and understanding their attack surface. ThreatMate Cyber Governance Automation (CGA) provides a second set of eyes that continuously discovers all assets and vulnerabilities satisfying the Identify requirements of the NIST CSF 2.0. Automating collection and archiving historical scans also provides an audit trail as proof that mandated steps were followed. 


Protect: The protect function covers much of the technical security controls for developing and implementing appropriate safeguards and protecting critical infrastructure. These categories are identity management and access control, security awareness and training, data security, information protection processes and procedures, maintenance and protective technology.

Detect: The detect function implements measures that alert an organization to cyberattacks. Detect categories include anomalies and events, security, continuous monitoring and detection processes.


Respond: The respond function categories ensure the appropriate response to cyberattacks and other cybersecurity events. Specific categories include response planning, communications, analysis, mitigation and improvements.

 Recover: Recovery activities implement plans for cyber resilience and ensure business continuity in the event of a cyberattack, security breach or other cybersecurity event. The recovery functions are recovery planning improvements and communications. 

The Takeaway

If you are thinking of getting started in your NIST CSF framework, or have a program and want to continuously monitor it, ThreatMate Cyber Governance Automation discovers, analyzes and presents data from your network in order to provide your board NIST CSF 2.0 dashbaords.




bottom of page